broadcasting local talent

Nautilus

Again, I am dreadfully sorry for the lack of articles last week. I literally had no time to myself, since I was so busy trying to pass tests and such. It was a sad time in the life of Emily.

However, I plan on making it up to y’all now with extra articles this week! Today, I am going to introduce you to a band called Nautilus, whom I had the pleasure of rocking out to at The Lab two weekends ago (geez times flies…two weeks ago already?!).
They came on right before Banquet of Heroes, and they definitely owned the stage! Also, I really appreciated the fact that the fabulous guitarist Rhoades introduced himself to me prior to the show. Gentleman points to you.
So of course I picked the gentleman to do the email interview with. You know the dealio, here’s his q’s and a’s!

1. How many members are in your band, and what ages, and what does each person play?We currently have 4.5 members.
The band is made up of four, sometimes five, individuals. Amit plays the pretty red Fender Stratocaster, Drew plays those sparkly, insane, and skeletal drums, Ryan sings/raps/parties on stage, Dane will provide groovalicious grooves on his bass, and I play the blinding Fender Jaguar (named Chloe).
2. How did you come up with your creative band name?Well, all of our sophomore year, Drew and I would be talking about the prog rock group Tool. There’s this one song called Lateralus that is built around the famous Fibonacci Sequence (1, 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, 13, 21, 34, etc.) Well it turns out that, when graphed, the Fibonacci Sequence creates a perfect spiral (I’m getting super nerdy…). The cool thing is that the spiral comes up in nature everywhere, and one example is in the shell of the sea-mollusk named Nautilus. We liked what it looked like, what it sounded like, and what it meant to us, so it just stuck.
3. How long have you been together as a band, how did you meet eachother and put the band together?Amit, Ryan, and I have been in a group together since the wee days of junior high (under the majestic names “Slave to the Sushi Bar” and “Club Lagoon”). It wasn’t until the summer before junior year that Drew agreed to play drums for us for our local music store’s 5-year anniversary show. Before Drew, Ryan would drum and sing at the same time…which sucks. We agreed that it would be cool to play together some more, and the band was formed. Dane has only recently joined up with us, adding his tasty bass to our bassless jams.
4. Where do you usually perform, and do you have any upcoming shows?We usually perform at our school, but recently we’ve branched off to the Old Redmond Firehouse, where we played with our local heroes Bo Tree for their final show, and The Lab, in which we shared the stage with Banquet of Heroes and Catalyst (those dudes were cool). As for upcoming shows, we’re gonna book some more shows at the Firehouse and maybe some places in Bellevue or Kirkland. We need to get writing, however.
5. How often do you practice together, and where at?We try to practice at least once a week at Drew’s house. Senior year is taking it’s toll on us and we’ve all been super busy with other stuff, but these recent shows have revitalized us a little bit.
6. Who are your musical/performing influences?Well, I only speak for myself when I say that Red Hot Chili Peppers, Band of Horses, Minus the Bear, and Portugal. The Man (yeah…there is a period in their name haha) are some of my major musical/performing influences. I don’t wanna get in trouble for listing the other guys’ influences and screwing it up, however I can say that it ranges from progressive metal, to classic blues, to bluegrassy folk music. It’s pretty messed up.
7. What advice do you have for people trying to start their own band?Definitely play with people you are comfortable with and that you want to play with. It doesn’t even matter if you have similar interests in music! I mean, look at my band; we have such an amazingly varied source of interests, but we can still come together to make music. Be open to different musical styles and you can go to really amazing places musically.
8. How far do you plan on taking your musical career?I can see myself playing music throughout my entire life, however my main interests include video game journalism/writing of some sort. Music will always be a huge part of my life and my time spent playing it will never be forgotten.
9. What are your goals for the band?The band wants to be able to record an EP of some sorts, play some more shows, and write some more awesome tunes for people to enjoy. We really just like pushing our boundaries and seeing what we can do to please ourselves and for our fans.
10. How can my blog readers listen to your music (is it online, any upcoming shows, etc.)?I believe there are some songs on our myspace at our myspace page.We’ll be partaking in an east side battle of the bands come February. You may be able to find more info at our facebook page.

Groove along to their groovy song, titled “The Funk Song”. I’m loving it, I’m sure you will too! The Funk Song (Mixdown 11_4_10)

Comments on: "Nautilus" (5)

  1. Rhoades Clark said:

    Thank you very much Emily! :]

  2. This band is sick! We opened for them at the LAB.

  3. I was there & yes, they sound even better with a bass player! Great write up.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

