broadcasting local talent

Seussical (The Musical)

Today’s article is on a different subject than usual. I am going to be telling you about my current life happenings, which revolve around Seussical!
This my last high school musical theater show, and I feel very bittersweet about that. Here I am, the senior, supposedly the “top dog” of the school theater business, and I’m wishing that I could do it all over again (mostly thanks to my wonderful new director, Karen McClain).
To those of you who are unfamiliar with Seussical and did not wish to click on the link I provided, I shall sum it up in two sentences: The Cat in The Hat guides Jojo (from Horton Hears A Who) on a journey, revolving around Horton the Elephant, Gertrude McFuzz, Mayzie La Bird and many other jungle friends. There’s a happy ending and Horton and Gertrude McFuzz have a very cute finale, and all the Whos live happily ever after.
Okay that wasn’t a top-notch description, I guess you’ll just have to see the show to find out all the things I left out!

Kidding! Unless you want to of course. In that case, please get in contact with me and I’ll gladly hook you up with some tickets.
If you were wondering, I am playing the role of Gertrude McFuzz, the awkward and affectionate leading lady who would do anything for her adored Horton. Did I mention that Gertrude is a bird? Because she is.
I’m guessing I got cast as her, because we look so much alike.

Am I right?
Nah, okay but really, I am having a fun time with my role. When else would I have the chance to sing my heart out to Jonny Koch (my Horton), who just happens to be the lead singer of the band Time’s Asylum? And where else could I prance around with a long tail and feathers? Onstage, that’s where!

If there’s one thing that Seussical has taught me, it is the following equation.
Elephant+Bird= Elephant Bird

And the show never really explains how this little baby creature is born. He was abandoned while he was in his egg, and when Horton cared for the egg, suddenly the baby became…and Elepant AND a bird. Oh the mysteries of theater (and Dr. Seuss).

Upcoming interviews include Time’s Asylum and December Rain, stay tuned!

Comments on: "Seussical (The Musical)" (1)

  1. calmbeforethesea said:

    this was a really funny and well written post!
    two thumbs up!!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

